Category Archives: Databases

Hobbies & Home Improvement


Home Improvement Reference Center
This database provides do-it-yourselfers with detailed, user-friendly “how-to” information covering a variety of home improvement and repair projects. Access includes full-text content from leading home improvement magazines and books, plus images not found anywhere else online

Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center
This database offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines.

Current Events

NOTE: To use the databases outside of the library you need to have a valid library card. Library Card Number is your password on some sites

Gale General OneFile
Gale General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
Gale OneFile: News
Gale OneFile: News
Gale OneFile: News is an innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. Finally, a one-stop source for the day's news and searchable archives. You can customize your online newspaper database features including search options. With InfoTrac Newsstand, you can search a collection of more than 1,000 newspapers, then select your own screen appearance, search options and results format.
Popular Websites (Includes News)Popular Websites (Includes News)Popular websites for searching current news and events

Genealogy Resources

Ancestry Library Edition**
Ancestry Library Edition
Ancestry Library Edition is one of the most important genealogical collections available today. It has unparalleled coverage of the U.S. and the U.K., including census, vital, church, military, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas. Ancestry Library Edition contains over 4,000 titles **Due to our licensing agreement with Ancestry.com, this resource can only be used from computers located within the Library, or using the Library’s public WiFi.


Internet Archive Genealogy Resources
Access an ever-growing collection of genealogy resources from libraries across the country. Registers of birth, city directories, steamboat passenger lists, school yearbooks and more.

Books & Authors

NOTE: To use the databases outside of the library you need to have a valid library card. Library Card Number is your password on some sites


NoveList Plus
NoveList Plus
Find more books by your favorite author, discover similar authors, or figure out which book is next in the series you are reading. If you have found a book you enjoy and want more like it NoveList is for you. (Patron ID is your Library Card Number)

Novelist K-8
Novelist K-8
Find more books by your child’s favorite author, discover similar authors, or figure out which book is next in the series you are reading. Works like NoveList but for children K-8 (Patron ID is your Library Card Number)

Books & Authors
Books & Authors
Books & Authors provides a set of predefined search and browsing options. You may enter terms in a single field, in several fields, or in all of the fields present or simply click through items on a page to browse. Book reviews and guides by subject-area to help you choose what to read next!
Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
Acclerated Reader Bookfinder
Acclerated Reader Bookfinder
Accelerated Reader Bookfinder (www.arbookfind.com) is a web-based search tool that was created for parents, guardians, students, teachers, and librarians to search for appropriate Accelerated Reader books. To view AR Bookfinder in Spanish, select Español.

 

Business & Legal Resources

NOTE: To use the databases outside of the library you need to have a valid library card. Library Card Number is your password on some sites

Gale Legal Forms
Provides a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others. Also included is a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions explained in layman’s language. Related Resource: Mohave County Law Library.
Reference USA Business Database
Reference USA Business Database
ReferenceUSA offers several searchable database modules containing detailed information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses and employers; 89 million U.S. residents; 855,000 U.S. health care providers; 1.5 million Canadian businesses; and 12 million Canadian residents. Two other modules cover 50,000 new companies in the U.S. and over 300,000 U.S. new movers and homeowners each week.

 

Automotive Resources

NOTE: To use the databases outside of the library you need to have a valid library card. Library Card Number is your password on some sites

Chilton Automotive Library
Chilton Automotive Library
Chilton Library.com represents the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models. ChiltonLibrary.com gives you the confidence to service or repair virtually any system on your vehicle.
VIN-decoder (Vehicle History)
VIN-decoder (Vehicle History)
Find the vehicle's "story": its manufacturer, brand, make and model, body style, engine size, assembly plant, and model year. On the page we also describe how to locate the VIN on a vehicle and how to read it.
DMV Practice Tests
DMV Practice Tests
These AZ DMV practice tests are good for the permit test, driver’s license test and the senior citizens’ refresher test. The written part of those tests at all Arizona DMV locations is the same.

Also includes:
Motorcycle practice tests.
CDL Practice tests.
Kelly Blue Book
Kelly Blue Book
Find the resale value of your car.

 

Educational Databases for Kids & School

NOTE: To use the databases outside of the library you need to have a valid library card. Library Card Number is your password on some sites

Kids infoBits
Kids infoBits
Kids InfoBits is the perfect educational product for today’s young learners. It’s a content-rich, authoritative, easy-to-use resource featuring age-appropriate content covering a broad range of educational topics. It features a modern, graphical interface, great new content from trusted sources, more intuitive navigation, improved resources, and much more.
Tumblebook Library
Tumblebook Library

Teach children the joy of reading with animated, talking picture books. You may discover one of your favorite childhood stories has come to life!


Novelist K-8
Novelist K-8
Find more books by your child’s favorite author, discover similar authors, or figure out which book is next in the series you are reading. Works like NoveList but for children K-8 (Patron ID is your Library Card Number)
Brainfuse Online Tutoring
Brainfuse Online Tutoring
Free online tutoring with live tutors in math, science, reading/writing, social studies, GED, ACT, PSAT/SAT, AP, Citizenship, and state standardized tests with no session limits. Submit essays and papers for constructive feedback within one business day. Writing and resume help!

Gale In Context: High School
Gale In Context: High School
Gale In Context: High School is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience combined with new features such as “Search Assist” and quick fact boxes.

Adult Learning, Jobs & Careers

NOTE: To use these databases outside of the library you need to have a valid library card. (Library Card Number is your password on some sites.)

Arizona at Work
Arizona at Work
Arizona @ Works assists in finding employment, skills acquisition, resumes and more.
Brainfuse Online Tutoring
Brainfuse Online Tutoring
Free online tutoring with live tutors in math, science, reading/writing, social studies, GED, ACT, PSAT/SAT, AP, Citizenship, and state standardized tests with no session limits. Submit essays and papers for constructive feedback within one business day. Writing and resume help!
Testing & Education Reference Center
Testing & Education Reference Center
Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Use this database to search thousands of college and graduate school entries. Identify scholarships that meet their financial needs. Take on-line practice tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.
Peterson's Career Prep
Peterson's Career Prep
Learn about careers, receive personalized career recommendations, create resumes and cover letters, search for jobs, explore schools and training programs, and get advice to help find a job or advance your career.
DMV Practice Tests
DMV Practice Tests
These AZ DMV practice tests are good for the permit test, driver’s license test and the senior citizens’ refresher test. The written part of those tests at all Arizona DMV locations is the same.

Also includes:
Motorcycle practice tests.
CDL Practice tests.

School & Academic Research Topics

NOTE: To use the databases outside of the library you need to have a valid library card. Library Card Number is your password on some sites.

Learning Express College Center
Learning Express College Center
Learning Express Library - College Center. Test preparation and learning materials in core college subjects.
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
Gale In Context: Biography
Gale In Context: Biography
Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Gale In Context: Science
Gale In Context: Science
Gale In Context: Science is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Gale In Context: High School
Gale In Context: High School
Gale In Context: High School is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience combined with new features such as "Search Assist" and quick fact boxes.
Gale In Context: U.S. History
Gale In Context: U.S. History
Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Gale In Context: World History
Gale In Context: World History
Gale In Context: World History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience
Britannica Academic
Britannica Academic
Learn how to do research and access maps, videos, timeline builders, dictionaries, atlases, and encyclopedia articles. Find biographies, current events, and science projects or search through world newspapers.
Britannica Escolar (Spanish Encyclopedia)
Britannica Escolar (Spanish Encyclopedia)
Learn how to do research and access maps, videos, timeline builders, dictionaries, atlases, and encyclopedia articles. Find biographies, current events, and science projects or search through world newspapers for Spanish speakers.